Redirection

Redirection is a WordPress plugin to manage 301 redirections, keep track of 404 errors, and generally tidy up any loose ends your site may have. This is particularly useful if you are migrating pages from an old website, or are changing the directory of your WordPress installation. It is also used for creating shorter URLs or vanity URLs.

Create and Manage Redirects

The redirect management page is where you’ll do most of the work in Redirection. It consists of a table with all your redirects and a section to add new ones. To access this page, log into the Admin Dashboard and go to Tools > Redirection. If this plugin is not currently activated on your site, please contact us so we can get you setup.

Adding A Redirect

Use the ‘add new redirection’ form to create a new redirect.

In its most basic form you need to enter a source URL (the URL you are redirecting from) and a target URL (the URL you are redirecting to).

The source URL is generally relative to your site. This means, for example, if the URL you want to redirect from is https://myexample.com/old-url, and Redirection is installed on https://myexample.com then the source is /old-url – it is relative to your domain.

The target can be any URL, relative or otherwise.

Some things to note:

  • The source URL should be URL encoded. For example, if you want to include a space in your URL you need to encode it as %20
  • The source URL cannot contain a hash #. This is not sent to the server and it is not possible to match against it

Editing a Redirect

Once you’ve created a redirect it will be added to your list. When you hover over the newly created redirect you will see links appear beneath it:

redirect_edit_actions

Press the edit link to edit the redirect in exactly the same way you added it.

Enabling, Disabling, and Deleting

Deleting a redirect removes it from Redirection and it will no longer be active.

A disabled redirect means the redirect still exists in Redirection, but it’s not active. Use this to temporarily disable the redirect without deleting it.

Enabling a redirect re-activates a disabled redirect.


Questions or suggestions? Contact: networksupport@artsopolis.com

Updated on June 1, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment